Members recognised that the Central Africa has been affected by armed conflict and this has affected the growth of the movement in the region. The strongest movement in the region is MIIC-RDC. MIIC RDC is quite present in the local churches in RDC. MIIC-RDC has been part of the structures of the National Episcopal Conference in Congo. Its members are well represented in activities of the National Episcopal Conference including those related to electoral reforms, civic education among others. Members agreed on the following.

  • Revitalising Pax Romana Movement in the Sub-region: MIIC-RDC will support the revitalization of the movement in Cameroon. MIIC-RDC will also support the creation of the movement in Burundi, Rwanda, Congo-Brazzaville and the Central African Republic
  • Formation for Chaplains: Chaplains are also changing too quickly leading to discontinuity in ecclesiastical support. In addition, those who take up responsibility as chaplains also need formation in order to ensure not only the sustainability of the Movement, but also to provide them with solid tools to properly support our movements.
  • Support the Pax-Romana Regional Office: MIIC-RDC and Cameroon are proposing the legalization of the office.
  • Transition from IMCS to ICMICA: In terms of seamless transition from IMCS to ICMICA, the Democratic Republic of Congo proposes that the members of the Region duplicate its strategy in this regard.

Executive team MIIC DR Congo

At the end of its 4th congress, the Miic-RDC Pax Romana elected a new national executive committee to coordinate the movement from 2020 to 2023. Having recalled the prescriptions of articles 23 of the statutes, 24 and 25 of the Internal Regulations on the elections, the President of the Congress invited the audience to a time of prayer and invocation to the Holy Spirit. At the end of the election, the following people were elected to be the new members of national executive committee:

1. President: Alain MONE NKOY

2. Secretary General: Emmanuel MINGASHANGA MIKOBI

3. Deputy Secretary General responsible for the diocesan sections: Edel Martin KABUTAKAPUA

4. Deputy Secretary General in charge of specialized secretariats: Inès BADINABO MUJINGA

5. Treasurer: Flore MVEMBA MALOMBA

The Board, for its part, is made up of the following members: BEKAMBO André,

LOHOHOLA Pierre,  NDUNDU JeanBaptiste, OHOTE Célestin, MALONDA Ronsard, RASHIDI Dieudonné, NKONGOLO Alain-Thierry, NZENG Thierry, EBAMBA Jeanne, BASHIZI Marielle, KOSO Jean- Paul, MAKONGO Valentin, MBOMBO Claire, KABWE Paul-Vinny and MANTANTU Merveille.

The Congress also proposed the revitalization of the ecclesiastical provinces to allow the MIIC to fully experience its national dimension. Speaking on behalf of the new Committee, Alain Mone Nkoy thanked the delegates for their confidence. The congress ended with a Eucharistic celebration presided over by Father Joa Shamukeke, national youth chaplain, representing Father Zéphyrin Ligopi Linzuwa, secretary of the Episcopal Commission for the Lay Apostolate (CEAL).